Ehemalige Glashütte Holsthum
HolsthumThe glassworks was founded in 1796 by Johann Dominik Laeis. Around 50 people were employed here, producing glass balloons, window glass, bottles and fine crystal glass.
The glassworks was founded in 1796 by Johann Dominik Laeis. Around 50 people were employed here, producing glass balloons, window glass, bottles and fine crystal glass.
The bobbin war in 1798 was planned as a liberation war for the West Eifel population against the French occupiers. At the parish church in Arzfeld there is a clapper war memorial erected by the Eifelverein in 1908.
The Bitburg Tower of Bells was donated by Bitburg’s Trade Union. At five after the hour, the bells play a German Folk Song. The doors then open up and depict figures of the local tradesmen and their crafts.
Medieval chapel with partially preserved original murals and beautiful parkland
Very beautiful park below the castle with pond, playground and view of the two impressive waterfalls
A baroque gem in the forest to the east of the town.
Certainly a much-visited cemetery 1800 years ago, today located in the middle of the forest: Houses for the deceased from Roman times.
Lime was already burnt by the Romans 2000 years ago. For the Eifel farmers, lime burning was an important and necessary secondary income in the 19th and beginning of the 20th century.
The Waldhotel Sonnenberg offers a limited number of parking spaces with a great view of Bollendorf.